Quidditch World Cup – District 12 vs. Hogwarts

On Friday, Amazon.com announced that the Hunger Games trilogy has eclipsed the Harry Potter books, taking into consideration print and Kindle book sales combined, to become the best selling series at their online store.

The Boy Who Lived vs. The Girl Who Volunteered

Kate Sullivan from the NY Daily News stated in her article that “the numbers include print and eBook sales, making this achievement all the more notable, as it has taken [Suzanne] Collins’ series only four years and three books to achieve land in the first spot for Amazon, as opposed to fifteen years and seven books for Rowling’s the Boy Who Lived.”

“Since debuting in 2008, Katniss Everdeen and the Hunger Games have taken the world by storm, much as Harry Potter did a decade before,” said Sara Nelson, the editorial director of books and Kindle at Amazon, which is the largest bookseller in the United States.

“Interestingly, this series is only three books versus Harry Potter’s seven, and to achieve this result in just four years is a great testament to both the popularity of the work and, we think, the growth in reading digitally during that time,” she said.

The Truth, The Whole Truth and Nothing But the Truth – Or So I Think

To be fair, the Harry Potter series has only been available as e-books for the last 5 months. Amazon’s assessment should have been based on sales excluding e-book sales. Especially when you consider that Amazon doesn’t even sell the Potter e-books. To acquire them you are redirected to Pottermore, JK Rowling’s website, to purchase the e-books. The exclusion of e-book sales would have provided a more effective evaluation on the comparative sales and placement of these two series.

What Do You Mean You Haven’t Read Them?

Both series are wonderful, exciting and suspenseful. If you haven’t read these, you really should. If you really don’t want too, consider gifting them to someone you love. A friend of mine gifted me with the Harry Potter series and I will be forever grateful to her.

The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins. Price: $18.99.

The Complete Harry Potter Collection by J.K. Rowling. Price: $57.54.

Amazon Press Release

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *